Knowledge - Character - Relationships

IMG 3761

 We are all still smiling even after a meeting!!!

Back:  Haki Anderson (Chairperson), Liz McClure(Parent Rep), Shane Fletcher (Principal), Karen Mottershead (Parent Rep)

Front:  Jackie Blackadder (Parent Rep), Sally Gray (Staff Rep), Kaye Gutsell (Parent Rep), Ange Hewett (Parent Rep)


The Board of Trustees is the governing body of our school, governing the school according to the requirements of the law. Their responsibilities relate to the setting of policy and approval of school procedures, budgets etc.

The Board works very closely with the Principal and staff who are responsible for the management of the school and the teaching of the NZ curriculum.

The Board represents the Community's interest in the school and as such they:

 - Approve the school's annual budget and report its operation to the community.

 - Are accountable to the community through their annual meetings.

 - Liaise closely with the Principal as the Professional leader and Chief Executive Officer of the Board.

 - Liaise closely with the school PTA (otherwise known as ParentLink).


Our current Board Members are:

Haki Anderson  (Chairperson) Shane Fletcher (Principal)

Sally Gray (Staff representative) Jacky Blackadder (Parent Rep)

Karen Mottershead (Parent Rep) Ange Hewett (Parent Rep)

Kaye Gutsell (Parent Rep) Liz McCLure (Parent Rep). 

Three members of the Board change every 18 months so that there is always continuity.

Parents are welcome to attend Board meetings, held at the school on the third Wednesday of each month. Minutes, agendas and reports are always available on request.

Our People

We have a great team behind us here at Southbrook School. Our staff are passionate about education and love teaching in and supporting our school and students.

Southbrook School Staff 2015


Our Students

Our students are what makes our school. Watching them form their education is what motivates us. Seeing the kids grow is an awesome privilege.

Southbrook School our students



Go To Top